"The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation shouldn't be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith,the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary,there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population."" -

Write a response in which you examine the started and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The environment protection group of Youngtown are of the assumed view that Smith Corporation who has an intent on buying a small percentage of the land near the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, to build a small hotel is entirely going to have deleterious repercussions on the survival of the 300 bird species that live in that area. Their accusation can be proved baseless as they are assuming that the hotel business instead of providing the tourists a better place to stay as there is a dearth of good hotels in the town, and would in a way act to allure more tourists to visit the sanctuary. The tourists would want to visit altogether more as they get to stay in a natural habit far away from the hustle of the city.

The argument also fails to consider the fact that during the peak seasons when a lot of migrating birds visit the sanctuary all the hotels are jammed packed with tourists, and due to scarcity of hotels a lot of tourists are restricted to visit town. Therefore, by opening a small hotel quite near to the sanctuary more tourists will be attracted to visit the sanctuary all the more.

By considering the fact that since Smith Corporation is a huge profit making firm and wants to give back to the people of the town by paying a higher amount for the land that they are purchasing than what it is really worth of. This could help the sanctuary to improvise certain areas of that needed immediate attention but couldn't be fulfilled due to shortage of funds. The birds now can be kept in a more hygienic place. The hygiene and better living conditions would attract many more birds to take shelter there, and also proliferate at a higher rate than usual.

But there can be a negative side to this argument, which includes the monetary advantages the Smith Corporation has behind buying a small percentage of land. It is quite likely at the name of increasing the potential tourists in the area, they just want to mint money from the tourists and in return for a humble case wants to have tax invasions from the government. Constructing and maintenance of the hotel can have harmful effects on the peaceful, natural habitat of the birds. The bird species may fear of being shot or their lives being threatened when they see so many humans staying too near to them. Consequently, this could adversely affect the tourism industry, which is the main source of income in the town.

Considering both the sides of the coin, it is quite difficult to come to a unanimous all good decision that could have no negative impact on the birds of the Sanctuary. A little more research needs to be done on the part of the hidden intentions of the Smith Corporation, before a major decision about selling the piece of land is taken. The people of the Youngtown can play a pivotal role in this situation. They should take up the responsibility of saving the sanctuary or taking any steps that are in favor of the sanctuary by espousing their opinions and having demonstrations to make the town aware about what changes are about to come and the impact on the Sanctuary and the town. The decision made by the people of the town would always be in favor of the sanctuary and the town, in a way coming to the best outcome that wouldn't harm the birds or the tourism industry.