The following appeared as part of a promotional campaign to sell advertising space in the Daily Gazette to grocery stores in the Marston area:

"Advertising the reduced price of selected grocery items in the Daily Gazette will help you increase your sales. Consider the results of a study conducted last month. Thirty sale items from a store in downtown Marston were advertised in The Gazette for four days. Each time one or more of the 30 items was purchased, clerks asked whether the shopper had read the ad. Two-thirds of the 200 shoppers asked answered in the affirmative. Furthermore, more than half the customers who answered in the affirmative spent over $100 at the store."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument states that Advertising the reduced price of selected grocery items in the Daily Gazette will help you increase your sales. This conclusion is based on the premise of a study conducted for a store in downtown Marston. The store's sales increased after its thirty items were advertised in the Gazette. The ckerks confirmed that two-thirds of the 200 shoppers had read the ad. At first glance, the author’s argument appears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is based on some dubious assumptions.

The Argument readily assumes that advertising selected grocery items at discounted price will increase the sales. But the argument does not specify the exact items that were advertised at discounted price. We do not know whether these items were perishable items such as milk or eggs or non-perishable items such as food-grains or spices. Also we are not aware whether all the grocery stores have these items in their inventory that were advertised by a store located in downtown Marston.

The argument does not consider the location of the store. If the store is located at a remote place away from the city, the sales may not increase considerably since the customer-base is small. On the other hand if the store is a supermarket located in the busy city, the sales may still not increase due to competition from other stores.

To sum up, this argument is not completely convincing as it stands. To better evaluate the argument we need more information about the various points such as locality of the grocery store, the list of 30 items that were on sale at the discounted price and whether a particular store has those items in their inventory.