The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birth-rate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birth-rate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

It is stated in the recommendation that, as the birth rate is declining less number of students will go to school and collages so funds should be reduced for education during next year. Additionally, it is also mentioned that, funds which is saved should be used for an adult programs and welfare because population of an adults will increase. However, before consideration this recommendation some question must be answer.

To begin with, how can you predict the population of the children in coming next ten year on the base of last year? And what is the possibility that more people will not migrate in the Calatrava City in coming next ten year? Tough, due to efficient family planning or some other reason birth rate has decline that does not mean in coming next year birth rate will not increase. Maybe, birth rate will increase and death rate of adults may also increase in such case it reducing funds for children’s education is will be debacle. Maybe more funds will be needed for in next decade on the education. It is also possible that in coming next year more families will migrate to this city in search of jobs and opportunity in such case it is blatant that population will increase and it is plausible to increase the budget of the education.

Moreover, on what bases it is said that number of students in public school will decrease? Or how can you say that number of school in public school will decrease? We cannot benighted the fact that in coming ten year public schools in the city of Calatrava may gain good reputation and entice more students from other cities. It may also happen that due to increase in population in the city more students will enroll in public school. If this happens to be true then, it is plausible to increase budget of education for next decade. If we consider this scenario then, conclusion recommendation made does not hold any water.

Finally, what is more important children’s education or adults program? As children’s are feature of this country so it is blatant to invest more on new generation then to organize adult program. It does not mean program and city facilities for adults are not at all important it is but not more than children’s education. So cutting down education budget and using it for adults may debacle for our next generation. By considering this it can be said that recommendation made by committee planning is weak.

In conclusion, evidence provided by the arguer, that support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. If all questions are answer and more evidence are provided than it may strengthen the claim.