The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The editorial assumes that since lower newborn in the future, the city of Calatrava will save more money in the education and recreation facilities. And then, this saved money could be used to facilitate new programs used primarily by adults. Nevertheless, Due to lacking some evidences, the argument is unfounded.

To begin with, one problem with the argument is that it assumes the lower birthrate apply equally to the lower number of the students; Yet, this may not be the case, for a variety of possible reasons; Although birthrate is decline definitely, perhaps there are still more than one hundred million infants born in the city of Calatrava. As a results, the number of students in Calatrava in the future is still significant. So a piece of evidence that we would need in order to evaluate the reasoning behind it is information about how many infant born in the city of Calatrava. Without ruling out such possibility, the author cannot justifiably conclude that the number of students is small in Calatrava in the future.

Even though the number of infant is small in Calatrava in the future, we still need another evidence for a reasonable recommendation; The editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that they can reduce the funds budget for education in the city of Calatrava because of low number of students in the future. However, a myriad of other factors, including increasing the number of new infant after two years, or extra added students, might weaken the argument. To be specific, economic recovery will cause increasing the number of infant, or increasing the extra added students because of excessive migration family. Without precluding these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that they can safely reduce the funds budged for education in the city of Calatrava.

Further, the author’s conclusion that they will have more extra money to facilitate programs used by adults in the future is unwarranted; There is lacking a crucial evidence to support the conclusion; Maybe saved money is too low to force new programs. It is entirely possible that the amount of money a new program need will offset, even outweigh the saved money. Besides, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent plans from being as available as the argument predicts.

In sum, the committee must offer the specific evidences to provide a useful recommendation: how many of infant now exactly, the extra evidence that can preclude some other factors, including increasing birthrate or extra added students after two years, and the evidence that predicts accurate saved money and programs expense.