The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Industrialization helps human being in many aspects. This argument is also showing such benefits which Transopolis city has got with increasing industrialization in some areas of the city. The planning department of the city has recommended that adapting a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway for industries has helped city in many ways like decreased crime rates and increased property tax revenue.

The argument clearly shows that Transopolis city has adapted this urban renewal program 10 years ago. Within this much long span city is likely to change so much in many aspects but the city planning department here is considering only one aspect for the growth of the city. They should consider other aspects too, before they reach upto any conclusion. Decrement in crime rates might be because of the increased moral values among the residents of that area. Moreover, statistics of the crime rates are not provided to support this stand. May be crime rates have decreased very nominally which is ignorable figure!

Planning department of Transoplois city has mentioned that property tax revenue for the entire city has been increased because of this new industrial area. But I don’t think so. While they are considering the entire city, they should consider the rest of the areas too. It is likely that many other areas of the city might have developed even more than this area and that could be the reason for increment in property tax revenue. In addition to that department should provide statistics to support this stand. No firm figures are given from which we can know that city’s property tax revenue increased by what amount!

Planning department officials have proposed that they should take the similar actions for a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. There is a possibility that new industries do not get enough man power in the new region and the idea can become a big flop. So many factors affect to make industries successful.

They have presumed that some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied. But what if some residents are about to come and occupy those housings? Moreover, they have not mentioned how come the new housings for the displaced people will be readily available.

So, all these factors should be considered before taking any slapdash decision. The planning department has not considered many aspects which can result into the failure of their plan. Hence, this argument is erroneous and need to have more details and statistical data to support their stand.