The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

An area of the Transopolis has seen revitalization over a period of ten years following the revamping of a substandard housing area for industrial use. This area was conveniently located near a freeway, and over the years, several factories were built, crime decreased, and property taxes boomed. In hopes of recreating a similar economic success, the city wants to repeat this endeavor in an area on the opposite end of town. In order to be successful, careful planning is required, and additional evidence is needed regarding location, timing, and displaced residents to determine if this the right course of action.

The original revamp may have worked well due to the area’s proximity to a freeway. Evidence of existence of sufficient roadway infrastructure near the new location is necessary. Interstate access could make the location attractive to investors for convenient shipments of goods. Lack of access would not make this a favorable location for more industry. Existence of a major road would strengthen the argument. However, if the infrastructure is not yet in place, then implementing the urban revitalization plan would be premature and futile.

An additional consideration is timing. More information is needed about the economic climate ten years ago before a determination can be made that a similar success will occur now. There may or may not be employable city residents available. Consumers may or may not be spending now as they were over the past ten years. Businesses may or may not be seeking to expand and employ more workers. It is possible that the economic situation caused new business to flourish ten years ago, but we don’t know if the same is true now. The city could strengthen its argument by pointing out economic markers that indicate this is good timing for additional industry to be introduced. It would be unfortunate to have an industry come in, bring jobs with it, attract additional workers to move their families to the area, only to have to lay off workers shortly after. This could create an increase in the very problems that correlate with poverty which the city is trying to avoid.

Finally, there is the issue of the residents displaced by the continuation of urban renewal. Although there is unoccupied housing nearby, deeper research needs to be completed to evaluate the possibility of its use by displaced residents. If the housing is found to be adequate, available, and affordable, perhaps this would all work out. However, if the housing is unoccupied because it is in disrepair or is too expensive, city planners cannot expect residents to move in there. Perhaps the housing is in good repair, but is too expensive. The city planners would need to determine how they can assist residents and property owners in making up the deficit.

The urban renewal plan seems plausible at first glance, but it necessitates further study before implementation. The location and proximity to a freeway is an important factor that could make or break the outcome. Equally important is the existence of the economic climate needed to sustain new industry. Finally, the city has a moral responsibility to not turn its residents out on to the street. The availability of affordable, adequate housing for its most vulnerable residents is imperative in making this decision.