"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

An internet ad company would like potential customers to believe that they can increase business profitability, so they cite an example in which a business, Furniture Depot, employed them to help with advertising, and subsequently saw profits increase by 10%. Statistics can be spun to say just about anything, and this ad company is trying its best to use statistics to its advantage here. Although the timing is convenient, there could have been any number of factors which influenced the increase in profitability of Furniture Depot. Furthermore, an uptick of 10% is promising, but not necessarily indicative of a lasting increase in profits.

First, the internet ad company hopes that potential customers will interpret the same cause and effect relationship they do-- that using their services causes an increase in profitability. However, there are numerous reasons for increased profits. Perhaps the economy was booming this quarter, and folks had extra cashflow to upgrade their home furnishings. Or maybe this is the season which includes Memorial Day, 4th of July, and/or Labor Day sales, enticing customers into the store for sales, but ensnaring them into additional purchases to complement the sale items. There are a multitude of other factors which could impact Furniture Depot's profit margin.

Second, the internet ad company hopes that potential customers will interpret the 10% uptick in profits as reason enough to employ their services. Is the cost worth the benefit? A 10% short-term uptick is promising, but again, there are many reasons besides increased online advertising for such a boon. Sale cycles, economic fluctuations-- many factors contribute to profitability. The cost to Furniture Depot is unknown, so it cannot be determined whether sales totals truly increased net profits after Furniture Depot paid for the advertising. The ad company's careful wording leaves the reader in the dark-- "sales totals", "profitability"-- they never literally state the net profits increased. Even the phrase "can increase" is fishy-- no guarantee is offered, just the possibility of success.

The internet ad company's argument could be strengthened by providing evidence that the specific products advertised increased in sales. Also, a comparison could be made to other stores' sales at the same time, with and without the ad company's services, for a comparison less colored by economic fluctuations. They did compare Furniture Depot's sales at the same time of year, removing the impact of sales cycles, so at least there is a smidgeon of consistency in their argument. In short, all advertisements should be taken with a grain of salt, and it is necessary to consider the outside economic factors, and investigate the true impact to net profit before drawing a conclusion about the effectiveness of the internet ad company's services.