The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis."Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard ho

The author argues here that through changing poorer residential areas of the city with a decreasing density in areas for industrial use to higher tax revenues and lower crime rates. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this recommendation, the planning department notes that these effects already took place at the housing area near the freeway which they take as a proof for widening it out to the other side of the city with similar characteristics. However, careful scrutiny of the argument reveals that it provides little credible evidence for the author’s recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First, the argument readily assumes that adapting housings with a lower standard for industrial area revitalizes the city. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. Out of experience from the history of the development of cities, a higher crime rate and relatively low tax income in poorer residential areas are normal. Anyway, these areas are important to support in terms of building an infrastructure to help the people living there, not just replacing it with industry and let the people move out of their home. The argument would have been much more convincing if it stated that the people living there wanted to move and that the lower crime rates along with higher tax revenues are partly caused by the very people benefiting from the newly formed industrial area.

Secondly, the argument readily claims that this progress can merely be adopted by other areas of the city. Usually, the reason why people with lower social standards cluster in a district because of comparably low rents or general lower costs of living. If these people get pushed in alternative housings in a more expensive neighbourhood, these families might have even less money and the crime rates even increase. Thus, evidence that these people get new accommodation which is affordable and the state cares about the proper education of the youth as well as jobs for the adults in the newly established industrial areas would show much better evidence for a subsequent declining crime rate. Nevertheless, if it is proven that the inhabitants get pushed even further out of the city, in even poorer districts or suburbs, the argument is less convincing since it doesn’t solve, but strengthens the problems of the people living there by widening the gap between rich and poor.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the short and long-term effects of the new industrial area instead of substandard housings. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the people living there, the reason for high crime rates and the side effects of forcing people to leave their homes.