The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether it is beneficial for a society when questioning authorities is widely popular. Indisputably, a critical mind helps people to ensure a purpose of a settled act and trains the brain to come up with creative and helpful ideas, as well as helps to bring science forward through not merely accepting facts. Nevertheless, authorities are often crucial for a steep learning curve of inexperienced learners in a particular area and make a more efficient learning of procedures possible. Therefore, I generally disagree with the statement that a society’s well-being certainly increases through overly questioning authorities.

First, the system of authorities exists since thousands of years for a good reason. If someone is very experienced in a field, the possibility that this person knows better how to deal with upcoming problems within that field, and what basics are important to learn for beginners, is very high. I want to point out that complex systems involving many people are based on that principle and would collapse without the use of authorities. To illustrate, let us look at the example of a big army. In this circumstance, obviously, high-level strategies and quick reactions are only possible when authority’s words are respected and followed without questioning them. Consequently, it is pretty clear that in some systems, authorities are crucial and therefore not to be questioned by the majority of its stakeholders.

Secondly, continuously questioning authorities on an immature state of learning something new can be very time-consuming and, therefore, plunges efficient working. Specifically, when basic knowledge of an area is getting introduced and taught by an authority, accepting the approach the authority chooses to transfer the knowledge can be very beneficial for the learners and, hence, for the society since it results in better-educated people. In school, for instance, the questioning of basic knowledge of math, the native and a foreign language and other subjects taught can make the students lose valuable working time they could spend studying. In this example, parents questioning the curriculum can cause the same effects. Hence, the evidence above shows that the statement has to be understood dependent on conditions of the environment.

Admittedly, questioning the decisions and standing of authority can be beneficial for the society as well. To catch up the earlier example of pupils in school, during their last high-school years, questioning the topics can be very important to practice critical thinking and supports developing a fruitful and creative mind. The questioning of state authorities can be very important as well, as history has shown us several times like in Germany around 80 years ago. However, the above statement argues that many people questioning authority are enhancing the well-being of society without any restrictions or attached conditions.

In conclusion, although there are plausible arguments and situations where questioning authority is increasing the prosperity of a society, it should be not applied in every sector to avoid negative effects. As long as it is well thought out and does not hold people back from making complex, society-wise important systems unable to remain, it can be important to improve the society. However, it is not a guarantee that with more questioning, the society increases in well-being.