The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce."Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined wit

In the preceding argument, the author state that the crime rate in Amburg city has increased, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states that Amuburg's police has begun patrols on bicycles in order to mitigate the crime rate but the solution did not work. Secondly, he states that they have to install high light system, and the solution was effective to decrease the crime rate in Belleville city. Then, by this solution the city will revitalize again. Hence, it may seem plausible at first glance. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author states that the crime rate has increased recently in Amburg city. On one hand, he readily assumes that the both cities are the same and the same solution is mandatory will work to mitigate the crime rate. But we do not have evidence that using high light system has worked in good way and how it works in Blleville city and perhaps they used another system augments the effectiveness of the high light system such as network of cameras system. In deed, the source of difference could be the cause of success that led to mitigate crime rate. Moreover, he fails to provide information about what types of vandalism the both cities have faced . Thus, without these evidences the argument remains unwarranted.

Secondly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in using undefined language that did not reflect significant results, such as using "decline". Thus, he fails to provide specific and precise information to describe how much the decline was and how much the real crime rate was. Perhaps the crime rate was 65 percent and after using the high light system became 60 percent. Consequently, is it significant mitigation? So, the author has to be precise to boost his case.

Thirdly, he readily states without warrant that the police has begun patrols on bicycles did not mitigate the crime rate. But from where he concluded this assumption what type of evidences he used. Perhaps the real solution is this one, but it needs more time to be effective or perhaps needs more number of police men and restricted observation. Furthermore, how he concluded that by mitigating the crime rate people will return to Amburg city. We would need evidences about this assumption. It might the real cause is not the crime rate may be low infrastructure or low level of services in this city. In deed, without concrete evidences the argument remains reckless.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal. Hence, without complete information and evidences the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate