The following appeared on the School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling

their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability

and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers

instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from

classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in

the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and

highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author offers four reasons to choose Mozart School of Music, including the easy admissions, comprehensive teaching styles, distinguished faculties and excellent graduate feedback. While the aforementioned factors are significant in choosing school and Mozart School of Music seems plausible in those factors, there are still some unsubstantiated assumptions, which will undermine the credibility of the argument.

To begin with, the author assumes the easy access constitutes high quality education. However, this conception is noting but counterintuitive for anyone who has been educated in formal school. Because it is widely accepted that schools with strict admission requirements usually provide better education, such as Oxford University. Therefore, without more information to associate easy admissions with better education, we incline to disagree with the author's advice to choose Mozart School of Music.

Secondly, the author is so cursory to think that comprehensive styles and genres can guarantee high quality education. With the rapid increase of knowledge, it is more than difficult to cultivate a versatile expert, since mastery of one expertise has taken a lot of energy and time. Therefore, a comprehensive education doesn't mean a quality. Before the author provides evidence that genres and styles in the school are approbated by specialists, we can not acced the accuracy of the assumption.

Moreover, even we acknowledge the two assumptions mentioned above, we can not draw a conclusion that Mozart School of Music offers quality education based on its inclusion of some of the distinguished musicians. We have no idea how much do these distinguished musicians account for the whole faculties. Neither are we informed of whether these musicians take part in the daily lecture. If there are only a small number of distinguished musicians and they don't actually participate in teaching, then the schools reputation for quality education and experts is implausible. Thus, the author is supposed to provide evidence to prove those experts can improve the school's education.

Last but not the least, the author also utilize graduates employment to attract more students of interest. However, we don't know whether the employment and success of the graduates stem from the education or other factors, such as graduates own ability and their family support. For instance, a successful graduate may have acquired an opportunity simply offered by his/her own family.

In summary, the reasons offered by the author are commonplace in school advertisements, but the author fails to convince the targeted students for lack of tenable evidence. In my opinion, the argument can include more credible information to substantiate the aforementioned assumptions.