The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The argument that illegal immigrants who are entering into the country must be made them to return to their own country is not convincing and it is based on few unproven assumptions.

First the argument states if the immigrants whoever are entering into the country is not checked with the identity the economy will be endangered.But the author does not address the issue clearly and instead mentions if the identity is not checked which is ambiguous.Nowadays,major amount of checks are been done to cross check the identity with the invention and new enhancements in technology linking the details of a person with the identity.But if the country is failing to check the identity then there must be an alternate approach to check for it.Even though after the identity checks illegal immigrants have entered the country,government must be already in practise where because of the illegals the present harmony is not disturbed.

Second the argument mentions autonomy lies in the border which is exactly true.To maintain the autonomy government should be strict enough and think of new developments to eschew the illegals.Maintaining the clear check of each and every individual thoroughly which means the government must be smart enough to identify the unwanted.Although the editor states that the illegal may cause threat so he has to be returned to ones own country.Instead,he should be punished for deliberately doing the act.So that next whoever is planning to enter will be warned at their own risk.

The argument might have been strengthened if the editor clearly mentions about the threats the illegals are causing destroying the autonomy of the country.Also, the ways to check the identity of an immigrant and how are the precautions taken to safegaurd the illegal entry would eloborate the argument more.Because there are no supporting statements to the argument the given statement is weak.