The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Traffic seems to be the biggest problem when it comes to travelling from one place to another, especially while travelling to work place. In the letter, the editor suggests that, while Waymarsh city is experiencing traffic at an elevated level, Garville city overcame traffic by commuting to several offers that benefit people travelling on their own; however, while the conclusion might be veracious, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the letter. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

Firstly, are the roads of Waymarsh perfectly constructed? The editor states that traffic is caused mainly due to shortage of roads; thus, indicating the large vehicle population. Perhaps, the traffic was not due to vehicle population but the road conditions. That is, if the roads are in bad condition, it would be difficult for vehicles to move smoothly, thus resulting in commotion and ultimately traffic due to poor constructions. Moreover, constructions due to highways might lead to occupying half of the roads area, leading to scarce of area for large vehicles to travel, which would block the road.

Secondly, in Garville, where do the workers live? Did they start to live nearby their work place to avoid travelling time? The editor states that pollution level have decreased since the establishment of the benefit. Maybe, people travelling from long distances shifted their living to places nearby their work place, thereby riding a bicycle or taking a train to work. Perhaps, people just walked to their work place.

Thirdly, would the policy introduced in Garville work “equally” well in Waymarsh city? The editor points out that the scheme which is said to be adopted would work perfectly in Waymarsh. In any city, when a scheme is taken into account, it impacts the society and the economy. Depending upon the economy, if Waymarsh is in an economy crisis, then people won’t prefer share driving because of the cost which would be allocated for the share trip. Thus, preventing people from travelling together. Moreover, they would prefer travelling in bus or train whose cost would be cheap and travelling time would also be minimized.

In conclusion, the letter, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the editor is able to provide the three pieces of evidences stated above, and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine whether the traffic in Waymarsh city would be reduced after adopting Garville’s policy.