The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, the firm advices clients that there will be a demand for heating oil and so the clients have to invest on industries based on heating oil production for profit. Moreover, the population of houses increased in Northeastern United States; therefore, there will be more demand which will provide profit to clients. However, while the conclusion drawn might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that if not substantiated would dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Hence, the firm must provide the following evidenced to prove that people will be needing oil to heat their houses.

Firstly, the firm suggests that since the local weather forecasters predicted that the extreme cold weather will continue, people would be at a demand to buy heating oil. However, not all predicted weather might come true. There is a possibility of global warming which would disrupt the prediction which is held now. Moreover, if people started cutting trees and started to burn plastic bags, there won’t be rain or winter whereas there will be summer in the future. This will lead to reduction in sales of heating oil and increase in sales of cooling machines like air conditioners. Hence, there is no certainty for demands of heating oil in the future.

Secondly, they say that since new houses emerged in the city, the owner of the houses would buy heating oils. However, it is not certain that new house owners would buy heating oil. There is a possibility that people who moved in are youngsters and maybe they preferred using heaters in their houses other than heating oil. The reason for their shift of tradition might be because they are workers and are in need of easy to use and less time consuming heaters. Since Oil is a traditional usage, maybe it took time to heat up the whole household. Hence, there won’t be increased buyers and sales as predicted by the firm.

Thirdly, there is no information about the cost of oil and the economy of the society. If all people of the city are employed, then there is a possibility of people abandoning heating oil for their houses and rather prefer heat consuming garments like sweaters. Thus, the firm have not conducted any recent survey regarding people needs during winter and hence it is not possible to presume that people would use traditional oil in the future.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed with unstated assumptions. If the firm is able to provide the three possible evidences and perhaps conduct a systematic study on the economy of northeastern United States, then there is a possibility of people demanding heating oil and clients receiving profit.