The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The parent claims that Swift Nutrition is serving meals that some students find unappetizing and they should be replace with another vendor. However, there are many assumptions in the letter which need to be evaluated before agreeing with the prediction.

Firstly, it is claimed by the parent that their son and several of his friends were complaining about the lunch options. However, this does not mean that a majority of the students do not find the food enjoyable. Therefore, all the students must be asked their opinion of the food; if a majority of them find it enjoyable, then this matter need not be taken any further, as only a few students have a problem. However, if a large portion of the students find the food disgusting, then the principal needs to look into the issue.

Additionally, the parent predicts that students will start bringing their own food which is unhealthy. However, there is no evidence backing that food made at home is less healthy than food made at the cafeteria. In fact, it is not even known how the lunches are made at the cafeteria. For instance, it is entirely possible the cafeteria kitchen is not maintained properly which might cause the food which is cooked there to be unhealthy.

The final question which needs be asked is -- who will replace Swift Nutrition? this will determine if replacing Swift Nutrition is a good idea. For instance, the new vendor might serve very unhealthy but enjoyable food or even worse, very unhealthy food which is bland! Therefore the new vendors must be carefully considered before replacing swift nutrition.

In conclusion, Although the parent predicts that there will be severe health consequences for the students, there are several flaws that need to be evaluated carefully. To properly evaluate the argument, the opinions of all students must be considered and also the new vendor must be thoroughly evaluated.