The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The letter states a complaint about the cafeteria vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat and low-calorie meals that students do not enjoy. The vendor does not provide good options for the students of the academy. The intention of hiring this company was to provide students with healthier foods. But, the plan is going to cause students to bring lunches on their own instead of eating the cafeteria food. If the company is not replaced with another vendor, there will be consequences which may be harmful for Kensington students.

The letter claims about the vendor that serves low-fat and low-calorie food that is not enjoyable for some students. The letter is does not offer any information regarding other students of the academy. Other students of the academy may find the food healthy and their parents might not have any objection regarding this Swiss Nutrition company. The claim makes a hasty generalization for all and asks to change the company.

Secondly, the intention of Swift is assumed to provide healthier food and it is presented in the letter that it would change eating habits of students. And, they will bring their own lunches instead of having the cafeteria food. The letter never gives any information that how many students are going to bring their lunches and are not enjoying the Swift company meals. The stimuli does not provide any cogent reason for changing the company.

Thirdly, if Swift is not replaced with another food company as mentioned, it claims to have serious health consequences. Swift provides healthy food which can not harm them. The grounds are not stated that how serious consequences are going to be affected. This is totally vague to apprise any serious health consequence due to adversity of Swift company.

To recapitulate, the letter urging for a company change does not provide any concrete grounds upon which decisions can be conferred. It needs to answer many questions challenged them. As, for a few number of students who do not find the food healthy;the company cannot be changed. It may be possible that other students of the school may like the Swift Nutrition company food. The reasons need to be more persuasive to bring about any change like it may be quality or cleanliness of Swift Nutrition company. Since, every serious factor is fine with Swift Nutrition company, the vendor may not be replaced.