The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper .

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings, we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter written in the local newspaper has stated that to make Oak city a better place, it should remove people on the committee who are not residents of the city. However, while the conclusion drawn might hold water as of now it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, would dramatically weaken the argument. Thus, the following two questions are to be answered.

Firstly, why are the objections raised by committee members who are not residents of the oak city considered foolish, the people of the city government might have some kind of bias towards the residents in such cases, even if the objections are good enough they might be considered as foolish, perhaps the decisions itself are bad making the objections worthy, If either of the scenarios is true the credibility of the letter will be hampered.

Secondly, why are the residents of oak city considered the best people to make good decisions? Sometimes residents may not have enough knowledge to object to a decision made by the city, this could happen in other ways as well, some residents may use the opportunity to increase the value of properties or promote their business, if these factors prove true it may hinder the conclusion of the letter.

Lastly, Is the prediction of improvement of the city without the involvement of non-residents reliable?. As there should be several factors to be taken into consideration such as non-residents might have outside knowledge which could be very helpful while making decisions, if such a condition is true, it may make the assertion of the letter unpersuasive.

In conclusion, the conclusion of removal of non-residents in the committee to improve the city relies on some unfounded assumptions, for these assumptions to hold water, the questions mentioned above are to be answered.