Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

Some people argue that commute by biking or walking might not benefit the environment as it could seen as minute problem in front of many hazardous activities. However, I disagree with this stance for the following three reasons.

First of all, people are more likely to not consider the seriousness of effect on the environment of vehicles as it seen as a daily necessity. With increase population transportation requirement also increases as more and more people are willing to travel to their required destination which makes people rely on vehicles. For example, A person living far away from his work would more likely need any kind of transport to reach his office in time. In addition, vehicles have also became inexpensive, so more people are willing to afford to purchase a vehicle which increases the amount releasing harmful gases into air.

Second of all, Vehicles which run on battery might be seen as an alternative but even making these batteries would effect the environment in a in direct way. For example, making batteries require large amount of ores which are found in caves, these ores play a key role in the ecosystem but by extensive mining of them could result in damage to the environment. Even though alternative methods for making batteries without use of these ores are being researched but these usually take more time to fully develop, So by relying on biking or walking could minimize the damage being done to the environment.

Finally, By using biking or walking increases human overall health as these require physical activity which increases the blood circulation and concentration. For example, a person relying on driving is more likely to get less physical exercise and with increase in time would likely be more lethargic and have more health problems, Although some people using vehicles exercise daily and maintain good health without use of biking or walking,

but the amount of people following this routine are minute.

In conclusion, using biking or walking for transportation would only benefit the environment as it does not causes any activities which would damage the environment.