"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company has stated that, although the produced movies by the company are good but due to lesser adversting about the movie, people are getting unaware of movie being produced by the company. However, while the conclusion drawn by the advertising direction may hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated would dramatically weaken the argument. Thus, the following three questions are to be addressed.

Firstly, is percentage of positive reviews credible enough? As the number of review are low, it could decrease the accuracy of a report or perhaps the reviews taken by the viewers are only taken from persons who have favourism towards the company, if either of the scenarios are proven true, the assertion of author might be hindered.

Secondly, are public not willing to watch movie even if they are aware of it? It might the scenario where people might have got influenced by the bad movies made by the company in the past, this bad influence could decrease there willingness to watch a movie, if such factor proves true, the conclusion given in the memo get hindered.

In conclusion, the memo given by the advertising director might be true. However, as it stands, the argument lies of three unfounded assumptions, for these assumptions to hold water, the questions mentioned above are to answered.