Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights.

In a letter to the national aeronautics magazine, the author suggested the use of unmanned space flights is more feasible than manned ones. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on two unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated dramatically would weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, manned space flight might not be more expensive and dangerous, as manned flight usually contains manual assistance but this might not be the case in unmanned one where the manual control is replaced by the automatic, as there is no physical assistance available to it in reach, an automatic system is to be developed, which are harder to develop and likely costs more to develop, if this proves true the assertion of the author on conclusion will be hampered.

Lastly, as our technology is limited nowadays the recently sent unmanned probes or satellites may be sent near locations or near planets in which the validity of their success of them decreases, with an increase in distance the variability might increase resulting in more failures and increase of the cost.

In conclusion, the idea to invest in unmanned might not be feasible nowadays, However, as it stands now the argument relies on three unreliable assumptions made by the author.