Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

Some people argue that commute by biking or walking might not benefit the environment as it could be seen as a minute problem in front of many hazardous activities. However, I disagree with this stance for the following three reasons.

First of all, people are more likely to not consider the seriousness of the effect on the environment of vehicles as it is seen as a daily necessity. With the increase in population transportation requirement also increases as more and more people are willing to travel to their required destination which makes people rely on vehicles. For example, A person living far away from his work would more likely need any kind of transport to reach his office in time. In addition, vehicles have also become inexpensive, so more people are willing to afford to purchase a vehicle which increases the amount releasing harmful gases in the air.

Second of all, Vehicles that run on batteries might be seen as an alternative but even making these batteries would indirectly affect the environment. For example, making batteries require a large number of ores which are found in caves, these ores play a key role in the ecosystem but extensive mining of them could result in damage to the environment. Even though alternative methods for making batteries without the use of these ores are being researched but these usually take more time to fully develop, So by relying on biking or walking could minimize the damage being done to the environment.

Finally, By using biking or walking increases human overall health as these require physical activity which increases blood circulation and concentration. For example, a person relying on driving is more likely to get less physical exercise and with an increase in time would likely be more lethargic and have more health problems, Although some people using vehicles exercise daily and maintain good health without the use of biking or walking, the number of people following this routine is minute.

In conclusion, using biking or walking for transportation would only benefit the environment as it does not cause any activities which would damage the environment.