The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum recommends that the television station will get more revenue if it restores time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, further evidence will need to check whether the advice is beneficial to the television station.

The data in the paragraph shows that customers' complaints are mainly concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. The first question is, we don't know how many complaints are. Is it 100, or merely 10. Also, it's the complaint regarding the late-time news section? Probably the television station didn't ask their customers to inform the session with which they are dissatisfied. Did the manager check the trend of the number of the audience watching TV? If the trend keeps robust, most viewers prefer to shift from local news to national news. The manager has to scrutinize the data and ask for some other compelling evidence.

Local business canceled the contract in the late-night news will be some negative impact on the liquidity of the television station. But we can't relate the cancellation to the change from local news to national news directly. We need to know whether the local company is in good shape; if their financial status is poor and can't sell out their product, it's quite reasonable that they can't afford the advertisement in the late-night session. Also, we have to check if there are new companies willing to sign the contract with us. After the shift from local news to national news, it's possible that our customers are not confined to local residents but all the people in the nation. Therefore, more advertisement will come into our late-night session.

Before the manager alters the television station's shift, he should collect more evidence to avoid the possible alternative causes mentioned above so that the television station will choose a plan maximizing its profit.