The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The advice suggests that the industry related to heating oil is worthy of investment because of climate change and foreseeable population growth. However, the advice is not convincing before we clarify some unstated assumptions.

The paragraph says, "climate forecasters predict that the below-normal temperature will last for several years. Who are forecasters? Are they well-trained professionals who work in the weather forecast bureau or just second-year students with climate-related majors? If they are merely second-year students, then the forecast probably is one of their final projects and its credibility is questionable. Even if the forecasters are professionals, what's the assumption of their forecasting model? It's quite hard to predict the long-term climate in a region: a butterfly swinging its wings in the western Pacific Ocean can induce the hurricane in the eastern Pacific Ocean.

The advice also mentioned that many new homes are built to catch on the demand of the growing population. The reason seems entirely plausible, but did the author compare the growth rate of the region to other regions in the country? If all the areas in the country have high rates of newly built houses, then maybe the population growth keeps flat, while the tremendous funds are rushing into the housing market.

The advice maintains that the client should invest in the heating oil industry since the area's population will increase. Well, for residents in distant place, heating oil may be the only heating resources so the reason is sound. What if the region is near the city? Newly built houses are usually equipped with the electric heater to warm up the home and therefore the residents doesn't have to purchase heating oil.

The unstated assumptions mentioned above need to verify before the author give the advice to the client.