The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The author claims that the company should restore the time to report weather and local news to catch more people to watch the news and avoid to loss more advertising. However, the reader needs further proof to verify the argument offer by the author.

The author indicate that more and more complaints about the changes that the news don't report the weather and the local news, so the author suggests the news should add more local news and the weather report. However, the author doesn't indicate how much of the complaints are be, also, the author doesn't show the percentage of the complaints to the residents live in the local cities. If the complains are inly ten argument or even lower, the news company shouldn't change the news program by those fewer people. Also, even there might become hundreds people argue the news and recommend to change the news, there might be thousands or millions people line in the city that the number of the complaints cannot represent the whole residents in the city. The author needs to prove more evidence to strength the argument to make all readers convincing.

The author also says the local businesses, used to advertising during the late-night news program, are canceled the advertising contracts that the company should restore the time to weather and local news to attract more people watch the TV and avoid to lose more advertising contracts. Nevertheless, the author doesn't explain why the local businesses canceled the advertising contract, there might be another reasons to cancel it. Just like the price to post the advertisement is too high that local businesses don't want to pay such high price to broadcast the advertisement. Or the local business is become bankrupt that they don't have any money to pay the price to the advertisement so they cancel the contract with the news company. Also, the product of the consumer might not watch the late-night news so the consumer won't see the advertisement to buy the business products. There are myriads of reason that the local business cancels the contracts with the news company, so the author needs to elaborate clear evidences to reinforce the argument.

Therefore, to change the later-news program from national news to local and weather news must need a lot of money to improve since the faculty need to change their works and the company has to find the weather specialize professor to predict the weather that it might cost more money than the contracts they lose. Because the news has to change the national to local, the source they find must all change to local news that the group, they have already establish and elaborate for years, might be cancel. Besides, handle and make a new group need money and time to sure the group can elaborate as well as they thought, if the group always be struggle that the news might always in danger about no news can report. By those reason, the author still need to think the argument is really helpful or not.

Although the author's prescription seems plausible, it still fail to convincing the reader since it miss the evidence to proof the argument, thus, the author need to elaborate and support the evidence to make all readers convince it.