'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The late-news program has concentrated more on national news in lieu of weather and local news. It is noted that the program has been frowned upon by the audience due to lessening the content they accustomed to see. Moreover, as a result of the modification in this program, most advertisement entities have refused to prolong their partnership with this program. I am of the opinion that even if the program return its previous content, the program owner less likely to retrieve its viewers and revenues.

The first reason why late-night news program cannot do so is the majority of their former audience may have already been following another TV channel offering weather, as well as local news. If the program remains the format of provision information about weather and local news, it could be tiresome, which may have countereffects instead. This program need a transformation in their content which has not introduced previously, and this boost the rate of the program in order that the number of viewers will will increase considerably. Unless doing so, the program is less likely to have more viewer than they have experienced before.

Another cause of ineffectiveness of returning previous level of weather and local news can be that most companies paying for the program to endorse their products have already made an agreeement with another program offering their services for remarkably reasonable price. It would be easy to attract advertisement companies to , therefore, the program may return them again but revenue could not be the same as they used to. To maintain the former price for advertisement, the program should raise its popularity by providing breaking national news which is followed by numerous people.

Restoring the time may not be solely solution for the issue; hence, the program should deem other strategy to combat the problem.