There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

It has been phenomenally popular by students to continue their tertiary education in recent years. Some may argue that it increases the overall rate of education as a whole, whereas others suggest that it could have a negative influence on the quality of universities. This essay will outline that an increasing number of students at university has both benefits and drawbacks.

The major advantage of increasing number of students is contribution to the science and society. Firstly, there are numerous fields in the science in which people are making improvements there, not mention to inventions. To do so, it requires to involve a large number of qualified personnel who graduated higher education. Another benefit is the unemployment rate could be minimized in order that more and more people, especially alumni would be given an opportunity to be employed appropriately.

In contrast, it is of importance that the disadvantages of this trend is not overlooked. The first shortcoming is that it will, no doubt, lead to the exponentially rise of uncertified universities to meet a demand of these students. For example, it is not uncommon to see that students have no choice but study at unauthorized places in that the quote of well-known universities, such as Harvard University is limited. Another drawback of this increase can be the lack of the quality of assessment. For instance, most universities have no resource to conduct individual assessments for numerous students; therefore ordinary test examinations are introduced. As a result, although students achieve higher scores, it is not an automatically case that they are qualified fairly.

In conclusion, despite the fact that increasing number of students can significantly benefit to the science and society, it can have an adverse impact on the quality of education. I believe that the disadvantages is highly overweigh its advantages.