There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Continuing tertiary education has become a phenomenal trend by innumerable students in recent years. Some argue that an increasing number of students has several advantages for science and workforce, whereas others suggest that it could have a negative influence on the quality of universities. This essay will outline the benefit and drawbacks this trend.

The major advantage of the increasing number of students is a substantial contribution to the science and society. Firstly, there are numerous fields in the science in which people are making groundbreaking improvements there, not mention to inventions. To do so, it requires an enrolment of a great deal of qualified personnel who have graduated higher education. Another benefit is that the unemployment rate could be minimized in order that most people, especially alumni would be given an opportunity to be highly paid jobs.

In contrast, it is of importance that the disadvantages of this trend are not overlooked. The first shortcoming is that it can, no doubt, lead to the exponential increase in the number of uncertified universities to meet a demand of these students. For example, it is not uncommon to see that students have no choice but study at unauthorized places in that the annual quota for well-known universities admissions, such as Harvard University is finite; therefore, their talent and knowledge might be ignored by employers. Another drawback can be a significant decrease in the quality of assessment. For instance, most universities are incapable to conduct individual assessments for numerous students; therefore, ordinary test examinations are introduced, instead. As a result, although students achieve higher scores, their knowledge may not be assessed fairly.

In conclusion, even though an increasing number of students can significantly benefit to the science and society, it can have an adverse impact on the quality of education. I believe that focusing on quality over quantity is a must.