There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The number of people studying tertiary education level has become increasingly popular in the last halfcentury. Some people believe that this is crucial because it increases the literacy rate of the society and should be highly welcomed however, others argue that the situation may result in poorer education system due to more number of students pursuing the course. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of increment of students at university.

The first and the foremost advantage of attending innumerable candidates in university is that it raises the revenue of the educational institution. As more students enrolled, more admission and monthly fees will be charged, and as a result, this will surely increase the fund.

Additionally, the country will definitely prosper through the development of highly skilled manpower. Each year, upon graduation, more students will be ready for relevant jobs. The involvement of university graduates in the job market not only fulfills the position of employment but also enriches the quality of the task due to the use of a higher level of knowledge.

However, the darker side of the argument should not be overlooked. Increasing trends of higher degree often tarnish the reputation of the university. With the influx of the students at the tertiary level, some universities could not pay attention to every single individual leading to poor performance of the student, which would besmirch the prestige of the university. Another disadvantage is that the value of a degree would diminish. Greater the graduate students lesser will be the jobs, and the significance of these people would eventually degrade.

In conclusion, the higher proportion of students enrolling for bachelors or masters has advantages of the production of skilled manpower and university development, yet also brings risks that could threaten the image of the college and unqualified education system. Despite these risks, the increasing higher degree enrollment gives qualified manpower and increases the financial stability of universities, and should therefore be encouraged.