Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The recent condition of the environment is gradually degrading with overpopulation and unwanted pollution. The prompt recommends that individuals cannot solve the problem of global issues rather it is the sole responsibility of the government and large companies to make a beneficial change. However, in my opinion, I am conditional with the claim and argue that all of us together can fight for the problem. Government should take a lead and individuals and bigger companies should follow them.

Firstly, government plays a crucial role to improve the condition of the earth by implementing a number of rules and regulations like imposing a green tax on industries and individuals and managing waste products. For instance, to fight global warming the government of Norway has started a campaign with a slogan of, “no purchase of diesel and petrol-powered vehicles”. Giving more priority to electric vehicles, it has begun the campaign. Thus, it will surely have a beneficial impact by reducing carbon emission and thereby improving the ozone layer.

Moreover, giant industries are responsible for the emission of pollution and waste products. Developing green industry strategies, utilizing waste, recycling used products, and complying with the rules placed by the nation can help to make the world a better place to live in.

Furthermore, common individuals can also play a minor role in improving our surroundings. Even though the public may not have a major role to mitigate pollution as industries and government do, they can certainly help the campaign merely by planting trees and managing household waste products. Increasing awareness among the citizen and instilling the hazard of a declining environment can additionally help people to be responsible.

In conclusion, though the supreme politicians and enormous industries can play a significant role in dealing with climate change, individuals can also play an imperative role by recycling solid waste, garbage and organizing tree plantation program. Hence, government as a leader and companies and people as a follower can ameliorate the critical situation of the earth.