Colleges should require all students to demonstrate proficiency in at least one foreign language.

Directions: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Learning a foreign language is helpful for communicating with foreigners, however, sometimes, irritating. The prompt recommends that colleges should require all the students to have a good grasp of at least a foreign language without mentioning the advantages. The issue is highly debatable on its own, and, in my opinion, I partially agree with the recommendation and argue that in most cases it is better to know a foreign language, but sometimes it is burdensome, in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, a foreign language is useful for making international trade effective. In many parts of the world international business do exist, and to make it viable, the businessmen of both the country involving in business must have the knowledge of each other's language. For instance, if a Nepali citizen wants to make international business with the Chinese and Indian citizens they must have known each other's language. It makes communication better, and as a result, the business prosper.

In addition, most of the students from several nations travel around the world for higher education. In case of Nepal, more than hundred thousands of student goes abroad every year for a higher degree in different parts of the world- say, USA, Australia, Germany, Spain, Portugal, China, Japan, etc. They must have proper knowledge of the language of those nations as they have to communicate with the people. In university, they can use English as a common language, however, while shopping they must have knowledge about the language of a particular nation. Therefore, it is advantageous to learn at least one foreign language.

However, due to globalization, and English as an international language, it is not important to learn some foreign language in school. Though some students might have strong vigor to learn a new language, most of them might be worn out studying those unnecessary languages. It is burdensome to study all the course material along with the foreign language. One must know own national language and English as an alternative language can be a good choice.

In conclusion, even though due to globalization, English is regarded as an international language, there still exists a language barrier in most of the countries. People have to hire a translator for communication, which surely hinders the effectiveness of the work. recommendation holds true for international business and international students. At the same time learning more than one language is itself a daunting task for students. Therefore, in some cases, it is plausible while in other cases, it seems irrelevant.