Our school is the best choice for students considering a career in theatre. First, our school does not require an audition and encourages applicants of all acting experience levels to apply. Second, our students are trained in all major schools of acting methods. Finally, many of our graduates have gone on to achieve acting roles in Broadway productions and Hollywood films.

Directions: Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In the above argument question, the author concludes that their school is the best choice for the students considering a career in theatre. However, while the conclusion might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore following questions must be addressed to make the conclusion sound better.

Firstly, without taking an audition, is it possible to manage the spate of the applications? Thousands of the individual may apply for the acting and there will be limited seats for class in school. Does it make any sense to make the audition unnecessary? Perhaps, it requires a large area and more infrastructure to address all those applicants in one single school. If the above holds true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author of the argument states that their students are trained in all the major schools of acting methods. What is all the major actually means? Without providing suitable evidence, how can the author boast that their students are well trained in all majors? It is possible that there are very few majors in the school compared to the standard number of majors with other schools and those students are good at those pity majors. If the above condition holds water, then the argument falls apart.

Furthermore, the author states, unhesitantly that many students go to broadway productions and Hollywood films. Before asserting those names, it must be answered that how many students out of how much goes to broadway productions and Hollywood films? Without clearly mentioning the average or actual figure, it is impossible to believe the evidence. It is possible 1000 students enrolled in that school, and less than 500 students may be able to be graduated, and out of that, they may be divided into various production areas, of which Broadway and Hollywood films encompass 50 students. If the above condition is true then, the author's argument tear apart. It is, therefore, implausible to rely on the author's argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unfolded assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and provide more trustworthy or compelling evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then the argument may be viable and the author position of their school is the best choice for anyone who wants to have a career in theatre is viable.