In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution

without first being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The only possible way to make a crucial contribution in any field of endeavor is to have some past influence in any field or past discovery. The prompt states that it is only possible to make a significant contribution in any field if we have past history of success or achievement. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the above statement and argue that one needs to have some past influence in the field to make a significant contribution in any endeavor in three paragraphs.

Firstly, most of the modern developments in the world are the outcome or advancement of older ideas or achievement: in fact, almost all new inventions are the result of slight modifications of past discoveries. Nikola Tesla and Thomas Alva Edison, for instance, had developed the principle of electricity years ago, and the advancement and additional research on that field lead to electrification. Were it not for Edison or tesla's invention of electricity, we would be in a darker world or there would be another scientist for that purpose.

Secondly, the influence or contribution in the past determines future of the any personality or organization. In other words, if someone has done laudable work in the past, then s/he can have good potential for another great contribution in the future. For example, the former prime minister of Nepal, KP Sharma Oli, has done lots of praiseworthy developments for the sake of the nation and he has got the trust of the citizen, which leads him to triumph in the election and that helped even more for him to do another great contribution for the country. Had not it be the influential task by Oli in the past, he would not have a significant contribution to the nation.

Finally, every modern thing is the influence of past discoveries. Most of us have sophisticated wall tv in our homes. However, all those are the advancement of past discoveries. The fundamental is the same for LCD TVs and bulky flat TVs: the only difference is the shape and the quality of the picture. It is, therefore, past discoveries and influential works are the basis for future development, and the future depends on the past.

In conclusion, some people may disagree with the above statement and may argue that, if the significant contribution can only be made by those who have done astounding past achievements in the field then how can freshers or immature youths can prosper in that field. However, they are unaware of the fact that those freshers may have done some fascinating activities or, say, projects in their academia, that can help them to make a great contribution to the country. Thus, one must have past achievements or influence to make a significant contribution to the future.