'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The TV company has adopted their late-night news program more to national news over several months, therefore, the amount of time alloted for weather and local news has decreased. By doing so, the owner of this program has encountered two major issues, such as viewers complaining about the content of weather and local news, and the loss of revenue by the cancellation of agreement with advertisement entities. The program is expected to restore its former level by adjusting the time for weather and local news as it was set before. However, it is not the case that the program may return its initial viewers and ads. Therefore, by investigating the root causes of the problem, they can find relevant resolutions.

As the audience are primarily concerned with the weather and local news, there should be several reasons behind it. First step to find these reasons, the TV company has to thoroughly inspect every single complainces coming form viewers. Perphaps, the problem could be cured by simply providing more interesting and relevant information in lieu of changing back the whole programs. Another possible solution can be modernizing the style of the provision of the weather and local news programs by introducing pilot versions. It is of grave importance to receive feedbacks from viewers because due to their interest in the program advertisement companies are willing to sign more contracts with this TV company.

In addition to viewers feedback, the communication with advertisement companies should be imporoved as well. To do so, it is vital to contact with them on a daily basis and understant their needs and requests, because they may not be satisfied from the program the TV company broadcast. For instance, they may have broken broken up the contract with the program by just rude and impolite telephone conversation. After discussion with them either on the phone or in-person, the TV company may sign new contracts and even earn more money than they used to.

By undertanding the causes of the problem, the TV company can consider about remediation of the problem without any major modification in their late-night news program. Moreover, they can both attract more audience who watch the program which is aligned for them and negotiate with a number local businesses who can ready to endorse their products on during this program.