The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the business manager, it is stated that the coverage of weather and local news should be expanded on all news programs to attract more viewers and avoid losing any additional advertising revenues. The manager has concluded based on the complaints received from viewers who were mainly concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news and the cancellation of the local businesses' advertising contracts. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be evaluated.

First of all, can all these complainers represent all the viewer's opinions? In other words, can opinions from specific viewers be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that most viewers like the national news more than local news. Further, there is a possibility that those complainers complain just for no reason. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the cancellation of the advertising contract caused by the complainers? The manager in the argument assumes that the complainers induce most cancellations. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps most of these local businesses have encountered some financial problems recently. There might be another reason cause the cancellation of the advertisement in the actual situation. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Lastly, aren't these complaints be made up? Competitors could make up these complaints. We can't promise that all the complaints are actually from the station's viewer. Thus, under such circumstances, the expansion of local news would maybe not resolve the current problem. If it is true, then the recommendation is not warranted.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three question above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form or systemic study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to expand the local and the weather news.