Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

The main reason to develop technologies is to improve our efficiency at work. It is not uncommon for people to invent meaningful technologies for educational purposes. The prompt recommends that technologies most likely to distract students from real learning. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this recommendation and argue that students are benefited from technologies rather than distracted by them for two reasons.

First, the internet can reduce resource differences between wealthy and low-income families. Thus, this kind of technology can benefit most low-income students. For instance, Coursera, one of the biggest online course platforms, offers lots of free courses on different subjects. Consequently, students from all over the world can study any course anytime and anywhere. The above example illustrates that the internet is likely to prevent needy students from lacking resources.

Further, even if we assume that most of the students are wealthy, the internet can still improve education during a hard time. For instance, one year into the COVID-19 pandemic, close to half the world’s students are still affected by partial or complete school closures. Over 100 million additional children will fall below the minimum proficiency level in reading due to the health crisis. If we don’t use the internet to help people connect, our students can only stay home and do nothing. Thus, the simplest way to resolve this problem is to link everyone by the internet. Teachers can teach students from all around the world and run no risk of infecting a covid-19. On a macro scale, the internet can prevent students from stopping learning during the pandemic, such as covid-19.

Of course, some argue that technologies, such as an iPhone or an iPad have so many apps that can distract our students from learning. However, just like a knife or a gun, these can help people and hurt people. The point is to use them in the right way. If we do so, we are likely to have the most powerful tool to improve our learning efficiency. People who use these technologies in the right way maximize learning effectiveness.