'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This essay will outline why the argument presented is not an accurate depiction of the scenario and the various other factors the business manager of the television station has not considered when coming up with the claim, that restoring the time would make all the problems just disappear.

The most important factor that seems to be overlooked is that both the viewers and the local businesses are more concerned about quality over quantity. So as long as the limited time dedicated to those sections had an undisputably high level. Which served the purpose of keeping the viewers well informed about the local news without needing them to refer to other sources for the latest goings-on in their state and neighbourhood, and the advertisements maintained a high level of engagement with the audience and hence keeping the revenues on the up.

Viewers are more concerned about the accuracy of the stories reported and how soon the news is reported; more than how long a particular segment airs. For example, a Harvard study showed that viewers are more likely to engage with content that is good and to the point, over something that is long and feels repetitive. Hence the various complaints of the viewers could be addressed by taking a different approach and focusing on improving the quality of the news delivered in the national news and weather segments over restoring the segments to their previous lengths.

The statement that local businesses have canceled advertising contracts has to be accepted as a fact. But there could be various reasons that the manager has failed to consider. Like the fact that currently, the country is going through a sort of an economic depression which is a result of the global pandemic. And hence these businesses do not have the extra revenue to consider advertising and are more concerned with staying afloat in these tumultuous times. Or it could be down to the fact that more companies, businesses are moving their advertising to social media over the traditional old-school methods. As advertising on social media costs a fraction of the price and tends to have better viewer engagement. As the majority of people, today use social media more often than they tend to watch the news. As these businesses are moving towards a more aggressive advertising strategy, this would explain the canceling of the contracts.

Hence this argument is not founded on a strong base of evidence, and by taking the points outlined in this essay the argument could be re-evaluated and a different strategy could be taken up by the television station to address the problems they have come across.