The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the business manager to the television station suggests the station to increase their coverage and time devoted to weather and local news and restore it to the earlier levels. While providing the recommendation the manager tries to reason with the fact that there are lots of complains received regarding the station's coverage of the weather and local news and local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts leading to loss of revenue. The recommendation sounds to be prudent for the television station but appears to be based on some unwarranted and shaky assumptions.

The manager points out that the station has received multiple complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news, but fails to provide information on what issues the complains were based on. Maybe the viewers are fine with less time devoted to local and weather news, but might be unsatisfied with the quality of coverage of the news, the station might be focusing on more sensational and irrelevant issues that are of no use to the viewers. The station might not be covering all the major regions in their weather coverage or might be providing incorrect predictions. If any of these issues are found to be veritable, increase in the coverage time won't alleviate the stations problems of losing viewership and revenues, in fact might worsen them.

Secondly, the manger tries to further solidify his suggestion by pointing out the loss of revenue that the staion is facing due to the cancellation of advertising contracts of their late-night advertisers. In informing so, he nowhere mentions the reason why the advertisers have decide the termination of contracts. The advertisers might have observed that the viewership of late-night talk shows and movies is be more than late-night news coverages and therefore thought of it to be a prudent decision to move away from news and weather to other broadcasts for better reach and more revenue. if the manager provides some justification as to the termination of contracts is linked to the dwindling viewership of the late-night news programs, adjusting the coverage time to cover local and weather news might upset their national news conuming viewerbase and would lead to further decrease in viewership.

Therefore with the current evidences provided by the manger to support his opinion of increased weather and local news coverage the argument is still weak and not conclusive. A further analysis of finding concrete reasons behind the viewer complaints and advertisers jumping ship is required.