A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The duty of the educational institutions in a country is to ensure the holistic growth of the students, guide them to identify their academic and non-academic inclinations and help them hone these skills and achieve their true potentials. However, due to non-unifrom access to educational curriculum and facilities, not all institutions are able to fulfill their responsibilities. The prompt suggests to implement a policy that ensure all the students in a country should study the same national curriculum till they move to colleges, undertaking specialisations. I completely concur with this view as it provides uniform and equal access to education and would also help in more fair assessment of students across the nation.

Firstly,ensuring that all the schools in a nation follow the same teaching outline would promote equality in education and uphold the right to better education, benefiting less privileged students as they access the same means of knowledge as the ones available at the top school. For example, in Finland, with the introduction of the New Education Policy in the last decade, Middle school syllabus across schools has been made uniform, with teachers going under trainings to better understand the curriculum and deliver good quality education. This uniformity has also brought the earlier chaotic education sector into a more streamlined situation. The schools have reported a 35% higher enrollment in government and state schools and decrease of 40% intake in private schools since the past decade, as parents preferred economical and less costly government school in alternative to the extravagant private schools that charge high fees. Thus uniformity of syllabus and curriculum would help make education affordable and not just a money making business.

Secondly, a common curriculum would ensure that every student learns the same academic material, undergoes the same extra-curricluar trainings and the same personality development courses and this would help in better and fair evalutation of the students accross the country, removing the need of multiple entrance exams that colleges conduct for their admissions. Take the case of college admissions in India, for engineering course offered by colleges across the country, the state, the private and the national institutes conduct their own assessment and entrance tests, which makes a students life very difficult as her or she has to study and appear for multiple tests and serve basically the same purpose, of intellectual assessment. A uniform education policy would eliminate this problem as there wont be a need of separate tests and entrance exams, studently can be failrly judged on the basis of their pre-college education marks.

Therefore, a uniform national curriculum will certainly benefit the students and the nation equally. Students getting access to better and equal education and the nation would get a better control of the content delivered in the schools and can modify it as time changes and the world around evolves, keeping students at an advantageous positions in comparison to their global peers.