The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

education is an intergral part of life for all children today. The curriculum that they must follow therefore becomes a crucial factor that not only impacts their future prospects, but also impacts the nation as a whole - because after all children are the future adults. The prompt suggests that every single student in a country must follow the same national curriculum until they enter college. I partially disagree with the aforementioned prompt and the three reasons fro my ambivalence are provided below.

First of all, our past experiences shape our thinking and for children, most of their past experience was education. these experiences not only impact our ability to think in different directions but also impact, to a large extent, the logical depth to which we can think in each of these different directions. now, if we were to provide the same education every student till they reach college, it would mean that all students entering college will have not only have more or less the same thinking pattern, they will also think in roughtly the same directions. this would in essence curb the diversity and creativity of mind that is typically associated with people of vastly different experiences. history has constantly taught us that those who think out of the box often lead thier fields. For instance, newton observed that the apple falls towards the ground and came up with the concept of Gravity. Before newton, there were many people who may have observed an apples falling to the groud but may have simply ignored it. Similarly, if all students of a nation are unable to think differently, the nation as a whole will be impacted negatively as there will now be few out of the box thinkers leading to fewer innvovations. Accordingly, it may not always be beneficial to follow the exact same curriculum for all children.

Second, regional subjects such as regional languages, regional history and various regional art styles that are taught by state owned schools will eventually vanish from books and from the minds of the people. this represents a significant curtural loss for the any country. For example, in the state of maharashtra(in india), the state owned schools teach the history of maharashtra, but the schools owend by the central board, better know as the CBSE board, teaches the history of india as a whole thus excising a mjor part of the history of maharashtra. Another such instance is the Marathi language that is taught by the schools operated by the state of maharashtra, the central board does not teach this language. such cultural loss, if ubiquitous across diverse country, will eventualy lead to losses in the uniqunes and the identities of the regional people.

Last but not the least, providing the same education to all students will provide them with equal opportuinities when they are appearing for entrance examinations for colleges. few people for whom the syllabus is not as rigirous may find it exteremely difficult to cract competitive entrance examinations to the best colleges in the country. Consequently, we may loose out highly intelligent people just because they studied in a different board of education.

In conclusion, although there are no black and white answers for such a convoluted topic, I believe it is in the nation's best interest towards providing the best education to the children wherever possible, for if not the nation looses out on its best resources available - the school going children.