The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with out station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. There fore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The television station's idea to, "restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level," may sound like an obvious choice to please their customer base, but there are more factors to take into consideration before doing so. It is important for a business to not draw conclusions from one piece of evidence, but to consider all evidence before making a hasty decision.

We see from the business manager's statement that the television station has lost local business advertisements as well as received numerous complaints about the network's switch from local coverage to national coverage. We don't see, however, whether or not the station's total viewers have changed since the change. There could be a scenario in which the total viewership has increased since the change from local news to national news, but we would not see this from the complaints received. There may be a smaller subset of viewers who originally liked the local news, but are now outnumbered by an audience who enjoys watching the national news. These viewers would likely not solicit any complaints because they are enjoying the new coverage. In a similar manner, growth in the audience of national news coverage may also open up the possibility of replacing the local advertisements that are canceling their contracts with national companies that would sign new contracts to advertise on the network. Without considering more specific evidence that is needed from the station, a hasty decision would likely not be wise and could be detrimental to the growth and longevity of the station.

The complaints alone may appear to represent the audience as a whole, yet this may not be true. Companies that go through a change will often face push-back from their original customers, but the change may be for the better of the company. The manager may feel like a change back to the original programming is needed based on the evidence given, it is important to view all data before making a decision.