A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Although the argument for a national standard curriculum during pre-college schooling may seem to promote equal opportunity for all students, it takes away from the freedom each student has by allowing them to make their education their own. Students' ability to make their own choices about curriculum allows them to shape themselves into the person they dream of being. A nation standardizing curriculum for pre-college students would cost each student their personal ambition and freedom of religion.

Recognizing that each student is not working toward the same goal is essential. Many students want to pursue secondary education, while many others do not. Allowing students and their families to make their own choices about the school and curriculum they want to attend will better allow them to learn and equip the skills, knowledge, and experience needed for their own future. A standardized curriculum would simply not allow students to personalize their education to reach the goals that they have set for themselves.

It should also be recognized that standardizing curriculum would expose students to ideas and beliefs that they don't agree with. Many subjects, but especially natural sciences, are taught differently depending on what religious background the curriculum is based upon. A curriculum built upon a background of Christianity would most likely teach a creation-based science, while a curriculum not built on a religious standpoint would likely feature an evolutionary-based science. Looking at just these two examples exposes us to just one of the many conflicts that may come up regarding personal values when implementing a standardized curriculum.

Students should have the opportunity to access the education that is needed for them to reach their personal goals, but based on the problems we've looked at already, a standardized curriculum does not do this without costs. A standardized curriculum for pre-college students would directly affect the student's personal ambitions as well as their religious freedom.