The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the complain

In this article, the author recommends that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to reach their preceding level so that the viewers to the program can be increased and the incoming form advertising would also increase after this action. Her/his suggestion is mainly based on the reducing viewer and the sharp dwindling of advertising contracts are truly the results of not restoring the time devoted to the two parts mentioned before of the program. However, the evidence is insufficient to warrant her/his conclusion fully and more information is needed before readers can fully accept her/his reasoning.

For starters, the whole argument is based on the past year and the inference from the preceding year to the whole after more trend is reasonable or not might be questioned. If the past year was a daunting year for the people in this country, such as one plague making people suffer, they may not be concerned about the world or even the whole country. As a result, it is possible that the crowds did not want to watch the national news as it is so far from them yet they are going to focus on their local situation. For example, when Covid-19 is going through every area, people would be more concerned about the local new contagious cases so that they can prepare to protect their family members and themselves. Weather is also an important reason for the plague to go out of the current area, a fitful temporature will make the plague infect more efficiently. The manager should make it clear that the reasoning based on the past year has some significance of statistics so that they can make any conclusion from this data.

On the other hand, the manager suggests that the advertising contracts have been canceled because of not taking the action she/he suggests. There can be many reasons for a company to cancel contracts with another company. Maybe the advertising company lacks the money to afford the heavy expense of advertisements and they want to reduce this outcoming. The company breaking up with the manager's television station might also be a fitful reason - the stakeholders of these two companies might get into a conflict. Moreover, the advertising company might find a new place to post their advertisement or they just gave up advertising on traditional television and do it on the internet, such as Instagram and Facebook. The manager should clarify that she/he has the reason from the advertising company that not doing the action as she/he suggests is the main reason for canceling the contracts with them.

Overall, the author needs to take into consideration all aforementioned questions and supplement a series of unsupported assumptions before she/he can legitimately conclude that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level can lead to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.