The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument from the memorandum of the TV station business manager defaults in certain areas which would be highlighted below:

He stated that "most of the complaints received from viewers..." without actually giving statistics on the total number of sampled opinions from viewers. While the adjective 'most' might indicate a larger proportion of people, without the total number to quantify the statement, the qualifier falls flat. If the TV station ideally served up to 1 million people per airing of its late-night news, and the sampling was done, for instance on only 10 viewers, with 8 of them being against the reports on the weather and local news, his statement that 'most viewers...' fails to hold water seeing as the sample size is insignificant and does not compare to the general population. He therefore would need to provide sufficeint data backing his claim of 'most' viewers dissents.

Also his argument may be weakened based on the demographics and range of the viewers sampled. Different people have different idiosyncracies, and the business manager's submission did not account for this variance in his memorandum. If per chance the sampling was only done on the local population or citizenry who were regular viewers of the late-night program, without accounting for foreigners or expatriates who lived within the country, it would serve as no surprise therefore that the local populace would be more interested in local news and weather than in national news which foreign viewers might take more interest in.

The business manager also makes a huge leap in his assumption that local businesses limited their advertising contracts with the TV station because of its reduced coverage of local news and weather. Economies are constantly in a state of flux due to factors ranging from governmental policies and taxation to a change in consumer/popular demand. Television advertising costs are usually of no small amount, and the possibility of economic woes or variances might have influenced the sudden decline in business ads made. Evidence in this regard would weaken the business manager's position.

Lastly, it is also possible that local businesses might have undergone restrategising in their advertisement policies, and may want to switch from television ads to other forms such as radio or social media. Also, these businesses might have discovered that the TV ads run were making little to no impact on theri revenue, hence decided to cut the additional costs and invest in other platforms to grow their market base and revenue