A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A popularised culture in most of Southern Africa is that of 'Ubuntu', which summarily translates to: "I am, because we are." This narrative heavily influences the manner of life and practice of the people- from their societal values to the educational system, and thus would form the standpoint of my discourse on why every nation should mandate a national curriculum for all its students before they begin the collegial system.

It is said that the youth are the pillar and form the framework of any successful nation; a well-developed collective youth will result in a well-accomplished nation. This concept is so well spelled out by the multiple-award winning literary figure Chinua Achebe in his critically acclaimed novel, "There was a country". In his novel, the author rendered his account on why his country Nigeria failed as a nation to progress and reach the proverbial promised land that was expected of her from her vast human and natural resources. He espoused on how after Nigeria gained her independece from colonial Great Britain in 1960, there was a failure of the inchoate government to look inwards and develop a national curriculum or strategic document that would guide youth formation and nation-building. One of the consequences of this failure was the Nigerian civil war which occured in just 7 years after gaining independence as well as economic woes which are still being felt in the country to this present day.

We see also from the experience of nations such as the USA, Singapore and China, the rewarding fruits that have ensued from their efforts in developing a singular national curriculum for the youth before college. Students from these countries have a sense of national pride and due to the equitable system developed, are ready and willing to advance nationalistic goals and objectives. It is no surprise therefore that the econonmy of these nations are leaps and bounds above others who have no sense of direction or purpose as it were, due to a failure to have an equitable system.

It is understandable however, that this may sometimes result in the production of jingoists aand individuals who put their nation aheas development ahead of humaniyt and aid for others, such as is senn right now in the world where immigrants are no longer welcomed or tolerated.

I therefore strongly believe that every nation should create a structured national curriculum for its students before they gain entrance into college.