The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaint

In the memorandum a television station's business manager asks the late-night news program to restore the time devoted to weather and local news. The manager stated that since the late-night news had spend less time on weather and local news, local business has canceled their advertising contracts. He believes that by restoring the time spend on these subjects, the late-night news program can attract more viewers ans stop losing advertising revenues. Although his argument may seem logical, by closer examinaiton we can see that the argument failed to provide some critical evidences.

First, the manager says that most of the complaints from viewers were about the coverage of weather and local news. The manager, however, didn't state clearly what the complaint was. It could be possible that the complaint was that the coverage of these subjects were too much and veiwers wish to increase the coverage of national news even more. Even if the complaining viewers wish to increase the coverage of these fields, it still does not provide evidence that spending less time on weather and local news will lose customers or not.

Second, no evidence were provided to show that the loss of advertising contracts are related to their late-night news lack of devotion on weather and local news. It could be that more and more people are advertising through the internet and doesn't use television advertising anymore. In which case a change in focus of the news program will not affect the advertising revenues. The manager should compare their situation with other late-night news which devote more on weather and local news to support his point.

Finally, the manager didn't say anything about the change in the amount of viewers. He assumes that the viewers are decreasing with current policy but fails to provide any relative information. The amount of viewers could increase while advertising companies still choose other methods for advertising. The manager should provide sufficient data that the amount of viewers are decreasing. He should also show that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news would actually help attract more customers.

To sum up, although the manager believes that the loss in revenue from the late-night news is because of the neglecting of weather and local news, certain evidence must be provided to justify his claim. The questions provided above must be answered with convincing evidence. Until then, we can say that the managers argument has certain flaws and therefore invalid.