Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings learn from the past. It is only by having the knowledge of our history can we progress without keep making the same mistakes. With that said, I believe that having history courses as a requirement in every field of study is unnecessary in universities.

First of all, some fields of knowledge doesn't require a comprehensive understanding in history to master. Take physics, mathematics, and engineering for example, these fields doesn't have much to do with history. If history courses is required for students in these major, it will only increase the load in school work and make it more difficult for them to master the basics in their own field of study.

Second, I believe that the general knowledge in history should already be grasped when students enter college. Thus, college history classes are generally more specific. These courses specify on the research on certain era, or the history on certain regions. These college level courses are extremely helpful for students trying to major in history. However, the benefits of students in other fields studying these subject may not be as obvious. Students can't see the big picture by taking only a few history courses in college, and it is certain not practical for students who major in other fields to take a massive amount of history courses. As a result, these history courses may not have a great impact on the students taking them.

Third, although having a diversity of courses provided in college is very important, requiring students to take certain courses outside of their field would actually limit the possible diversity a student could achieve. If a school requires all students to take history courses regardless of their majors, then what about geography? biology? or other social sciences? These subjects are also important, but students won't have time to learn these because they are required to take history courses. To achieve real diversity in the selection of courses, the school should provide all these courses and let students have the freedom to choose among these. With this method, students can choose freely from a variety of courses without being limited to one field.

To sum up, I believe that history courses should not be listed as a requirement for university students regardless of their majors. This policy would increase the students studying load, decrease diversity in the courses student select, and would not necessarily have a great impact on the students. Although history courses are important and certainly has their place in universities, setting them as requirement for all students is not the way to go.