Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Internet access and public transportation are both important in our daily lives. When governments take care of these two aspects, citizens can live their lives with much greater convenience. With that said, I don't agree that improving Internet access is more important than improving public transportation.

First of all, Internet accessibility problems are more solvable by individuals. Nowadays, we can get internet access at schools, libraries, or at our workspace. Since people can easily go to public places where Internet is offered, the lack of internet accessibility at certain areas are not such a big problem. On the other hand, if there isn't any public transportation in the neighborhood, than the whole neighborhood would be affected. People may be willing to commute a little to get Internet access, but they definitely won't do that for public transportations. If I should drive three blocks to take a bus, I can just drive to the place I want to go instead.

Second, it is much more essential to guarantee convenient transportation than Internet access. Sure, Internet may be necessary in some corporations, schools, or research institutes, but other than that, households actually can live without Internet access. Some may argue that they can't live without browsing websites 24 hours a day, but this is simply not true. Public transportations, when implemented well, however can bring much greater benefits. Well organized bus routes and train stations, for instance, can hugely mitigate traffic problems, while at the same time reduce pollutions caused by driving. These public transportation stations can actually speed up progress in rural areas, helping their economy, and bring other improvements, for example internet access, more easily implemented.

To sum up, while Internet access and public transportations are both important, I believe that Internet access is only essential at certain places, and having public transportation is actually more important when compared with gaining Internet access. Based on the reasons provided above, I disagree with the statement that governments should spend more money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.