A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Education system of a country can determine how well the nation develops. In ancient China, there is a saying that " it takes ten years to know how to grow a tree, but it takes a hundred years to know how to educate people well". How to effectively teach students is certainly a major issue for every contries. One of the major issue is whether a nation should have all their students study the same curriculum until they enter college. Although some may believe that a diversity in curriculums may have benefits, I believe that maintaining the same national curriculum for all students is a far better option.

One of the advantages of having a single curriculum for all students to work on is that it lets students to strive for more generality. In countries that have several curriculums before college, students start to learn specific knowledge before they have acquired enough general knowledge. Specification at a younger age may help them master certain aspects of the chosen field faster, but lacking the general sense of knowledge would keep these students from seeing challenges from a more comprehensive view. On the other hand, in countries that enforce a single curriculum for students to study before college, students exhibits the ability to see the big picture, and may perform better once they master the field in college.

Another advantage for implementing the same national curriculum for yougsters is it makes teachers easier to provide high quality courses. Teachers in high school would know exactly what ability students needs to have. Therefore, they can focus on developing an engaging learning environment. If, however, a nation provides several curriculums, a teacher may be confused about what exactly should he or she expect from the students. The teacher would waste time on determining whether certain knowledge should be taught or not instead of focusing on how to teach well. The same applies to college education. Professors could provide a much better course if all his or her students have a similar learning background.

Having several curriculums does have its pros. For instance, it provides a higher diversity among students. It also enable students to start specializing in a certain field at a younger age. However, the fact that several curriculums fail to provide sufficient amount of general knowledge and keep educators from efficiently provide a better learning experience outweighs the advantages having multiple curriculum provides. Therefore, I believe that a nation should enforce a single curriculum on all students until they enter college.