Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

Schools, being an institute for career preparation, has the responsibility to guide their students to success in their careers. Yet, I do not totally agree that schools should dissuade students from pursuing fields that they are unlikely to succeed.

The first reason is that no one is able to predict the future of a student, and the schools have no way to know which fields a student is more likely to succeed. The school's opinion, or more often, the teachers opinions, are usually biased viewpoint which is based on their own personal experience and of nelgect individual experience. It is especially true when in comes to students who want to pursue careers that are not the mainstream of the scoiety. For instance it is commonplace for teachers tell their students to study hard because higher education surely leads to greater fortune and better future. However, for students who find no interest in reading textbooks but devoted to some skills like music, they are often forced to forfeit their talents and to study subjects that they are not intereted in.

Another reason why schools should not dissaude their students from pursuing fields in which they are unlikely to succed is that schools often pursaude students to study fields that are in high demands of talented people, however no one can know for sure the future trend of the industry. Machine learning, a subset of artifitial intelligence, has gone viral in recent years. Yet, what few people know is that machine learning is once a field that see no promise. Back in that time, very few people study machine learning becasue due to hardware constraints, theories developed in that fields are no way realizable. However, thanks to the rapid improvement of hardware, this field has resurrect in recent years. If all students are dissuaded from studying this field, the popularity of machine learning wil never come even if all hardwares are mature enough.

Some may aruge that most students lack experiences to decide what they are really interested in, and because schools, or usually teachers, have more exeperiences, they may still make better decisions that students. It is true that many students are lack of experiences and may fumble in their life if schools don't guide them, but failure is also a way of learning, and in fact, it is the most precious experiences one can ever have -- if we fail, we certainly know what not to do the next time. Thus, dissuading students form studying some fields, may prevent them from failure in the short term, but may inhibit their opportunity to learn for themselves in the long run.

Since schools can rarely predict the future trend, nor can they give students advices based on theiry own characteristics, schools should not promulgate certain fields and downplay others. What schools should do is to provide students with enough, and up-to-date information for students, and let them choose the future.