The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the comp

In the following argument it is concluded that they must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This statements made to arrive to this conclusion are full of assumptions and holes and fail to provide a cogent argument to support this conclusion.

First, the manager states that most of the complaints received were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. But he fails to state as to what the complaints attributed to. There is no evidence that he complaints were due to the decreased time devoted to weather and local news. It may probably be due to the quality of the content , example , there could have been complaints regarding the accuracy of the weather forecast . Hence more specifics have to be given on what the complaints were about in particular and if was related or due to the decreased time of airing local news and weather.

Another important data that has not been stated is the about the airing time of the national news , local news and weather during the daytime. The time to air weather and local news has been decreased in the late-news may simply be beacuse that their airing time might have been increased during the other parts of the day. This data is important as it may provide an explanation as to why there have been complaints regarding local news and weather , those complaints may also be due to increased airing time during the day.

The above data is important again to find a relation as to why local businesses that used to advertise during the late night news may have cancelled their contracts.

Those local businesses may have cancelled their current contracts and may have signed new ones to air their advertisements during the earlier part of the day as the local news airing time would've been increased during the earlier part of the day. They may have also cancelled their contracts citing to the fact that not many people watch the late night news as compared to the other parts of the day and this wouldn't have aided them to expand their business horizon. Hence a concrete relation has to be provided as to why they local businesses terminated their contracts for advertisements that aired during the late night news and if it were due to the decreased time devoted to the weather and local news , then proof has to be shown for the same to support this statement.

Moreover , the manager also assumes that reverting back to their original time devoted for weather and local news will attract more viewers. The decreased viewership may not be due to decreased airing time of local news and weather but may be due to other reason such as the quality of the newsreaders etc. Hence evidence has to provided by means of a survey where the people felt they would view the news more if the time dedicated to weather and local news were more .

Thus to conclude , even though there may be a number of statements to warrant action , more proof is required to implement it.